Book Quotes

“but for my own part, if a book is well written, I always find it too short.”― Jane Austen

Saturday, July 27, 2013

GIVEAWAY & Review ~ Stealing the Preacher by Karen Witemeyer

~ Giveaway has ended ~


If you need a pick me up and a few hours of diversion from the stresses of life, grab a copy of Stealing the Preacher. You'll find plenty of humor laced with in-depth spiritual themes.

This is my favorite book by Karen so far. Crockett is a great character. I loved how his thoughts were communicated, showing his struggle to tame his tongue in obedience to the Lord. He sort of carried on a conversation with himself at times, and it was so real! I find myself often thinking I would like to say one thing but knowing I shouldn't and then apologizing to the Lord for thinking it.

Joanna wants to see their local church revived and has been praying for a preacher. Crockett is on his way to interview for a position as a Preacher in a town nearby. Silas, Joanna's daddy decides to resurrect an old profession to bring his baby girl a birthday present. Her daddy is hilarious! Along with his old gang members it was easy to picture them roping Crockett and dragging him around. There's this one part where he gets away and runs...oh wait. You'll have to read it and see what happens next. Belly laughs galore!

*texture for background from Brenda Clarke

Karen is a master storyteller and her ingenuity is incredible when it comes to dialogue. There is never a slow moment in this book. Her relationship and knowledge of spiritual concepts jumps right off the page but not at all in an offensive or overdone manner. This is a sweet, fast-paced, and funny romance that leaves me anxiously awaiting her next book.

Fans of Historical Fiction and Karen Witemeyer will love this story! Actually, I think anyone would love this story, it's that good :)

I was provided a copy of this book from the author for review purposes only. No other compensation was received. I was not required to write a positive review, only my honest thoughts about the book.



Bethany House is offering a copy to one of my blog readers. Answer the question below to be entered. Please leave an email address so I can contact you if you are the winner. US ONLY!!! Ends July 30th.


What's your favorite Karen Witemeyer book?


Book Blurb

A cowboy who wants to be a preacher. An outlaw's daughter who wants to change his mind.


On his way to interview for a position at a church in the Piney Woods of Texas, Crockett Archer can't believe it when he's forced off the train by an outlaw and presented to the man's daughter as the preacher she requested for her birthday. He's determined to escape--which would be much easier if he could stop thinking about Joanna Robbins and her unexpected request.



For months, Joanna had prayed for a minister. A man to breathe life back into the abandoned church at the heart of her community. A man to assist her in fulfilling a promise to her dying mother. But just when it seems her prayers have been answered, it turns out the parson is there against his will and has dreams of his own calling him elsewhere. Is there any way she can convince Crockett he ended up right where he was supposed to be?



With her signature blend of humor, history, and lively western romance, two-time RITA Award finalist and bestselling author Karen Witemeyer delivers a Texas love story sure to steal your heart.





Author Bio


Two-time RITA finalist and winner of the coveted HOLT Medallion and ACFW Carol Award, CBA bestselling author Karen Witemeyer writes historical romance because she believes that the world needs more happily-ever-afters. She is an avid cross-stitcher, shower singer, and bakes a mean apple cobbler. Karen makes her home in Abilene, Texas, with her husband and three children. Learn more about Karen and her books at www.karenwitemeyer.com.





TO PURCHASE:



For some reason, the cover posted is one of the prototypes and not the final cover copy BUT it is still the correct book! If you use this purchase link, I make a small commission on the sale of the book.


Don't forget to leave an answer to the above question for a chance to win a copy from Bethany House!

32 comments:

  1. I would say that Stealing the Preacher is my favorite. The story is captivating and entertaining. :) amccalli(at)gmail(dot)(com)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I was so surprised when I looked through my Kindle to see I've read all of Ms. Whitemeyer's books listed in Amazon except Steaing the Preacher. Totally enjoyed them all. Hard to choose but perhaps TO WIN HER HEART, if I had to choose... Although HEAD IN THE CLOUDS is fun as well.
    tojoleen@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Short straw bride is mine!! Just loved it - but a close second is TO WIN HER HEART - I'm a sucker for big burly blacksmiths!! thanks for the chance-
    truckredford(at)gmail(dot)Com

    ReplyDelete
  4. I am so excited about your book! I love to read for enjoyment and this book looks like alot of laughs! My fav book so far is Short Straw Bride but I think this one could end up top of the list! Thank you for the opportunity to win!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Short Straw Bride was my favorite!! She is my favorite author, and I love all of her books! Thanks for the giveaway!
    smilesalot2010(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  6. I've only read Short Straw Bride so far and really enjoyed it! I've very excited to read this one! shopgirl152nykiki(at)yahoo(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  7. I've read all of her books, but this one. My favorite is Short Straw Bride. I love Karen's books. She's a great author. Enjoyed your wonderful review. Thank you for sharing and entering me in the giveaway.
    Barbara Thompson
    barbmaci61(at)yahoo(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  8. Karen is a new author to me, in that I haven't read any of her books, but I have read great things about her writing. I would love to win a copy of Stealing the Preacher, so I could finally have a chance to read one of her books. Your review sounds like I've been missing something good.
    may_dayzee (at) yahoo (dot) com

    ReplyDelete
  9. Karen is new to me also but would lov e to win this and review it on my b log!
    Rhonda
    nashhall@aol.com

    ReplyDelete
  10. I have not read any of Karen's books yet. I hope to start with this one. Thanks for the opportunity to enter the contest.

    cindialtman(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  11. Very fun post. Thank you. I, too, enjoyed Stealing the Preacher ~ and the forerunner ~ Short-Straw Bride where we meet Crockett and his brothers. Fun Fun Fun
    Kathleen ~ Lane Hill House
    lanehillhouse[at]centurylink[dot]net

    ReplyDelete
  12. Great review, Anne, and I absolutely LOVED Short-Straw Bride, so I KNOW I would love Stealing the Preacher as well, so sign me up, girl!! :)

    Hugs,
    Julie
    gsus (at) charter (dot) net

    ReplyDelete
  13. I have read 3 of Karen's books.....loved them all, so hard to pick a fave. I am anxious to read this one so please enter me.
    Thanks!!
    jackie.smith[at]dishmail[dot]net

    ReplyDelete
  14. I haven't read any by Karen, but would love to start with this one! It sounds amazing!

    tscmshupe [at] pemtel [dot] net

    ReplyDelete
  15. Every time I've read one of Karen's books it has become my favorite but if I HAVE to pick...Head in the Clouds - but really - THEY'RE ALL MY FAVORITES! Hope to win this one!

    missionwife AT hotmail DOT com

    ReplyDelete
  16. Well, my favorite Karen Witemeyer novel at the moment is Head in the Clouds. Adelaide was simply too much fun to read about!! And all that yellow! :)

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    inspiringdaring (at) yahoo (dot) com

    ReplyDelete
  17. Karen is a new author to me, so I have not read any of her books. But Stealing the Preacher sounds like a great story and I love the cover too! Would love to read this!
    marypopmom (at) yahoo (dot) com

    ReplyDelete

  18. I only have one of Karens books, "Short Straw Bride" so that has to be it. Everyone seems to love all of her books. Thanks for this give-away. Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  19. I really love To Win her Heart. I haven't read Stealing the Preacher yet but I would love to read it soon. sandyrosas@sbcglobal.net

    ReplyDelete
  20. It would definitely be 'Stealing the Preacher'. It was just so good and I read it in only a few hours too! :) ebc_student(at)ymail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  21. To my knowledge I have not read any of the books so I am unable to answer the question. If I won the book that would be my way of starting to read her books. My dad is a retired pastor and my sister is a pastor so it would be really fun to read. Bonnie Traher momtr3@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  22. I've never read any of Karen Witemeyer's books, but Stealing the Preacher has popped up so many times I almost bought it Friday. I actually left the store saying I would buy it on my Kindle. With as much as I've heard about it, it has to be good.

    njclark8203@aol.com

    ReplyDelete
  23. I have only read two Karen Witemeyer books, but I loved them both. My favorite would be Short Straw Bride. I believe I have reread it about 3 times since I purchased it. I would welcome a copy of Stealing the Preacher. Thank you for this opportunity. My email address is: GlamorousLooks(at)live(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  24. I only recently learned of Karen Witemeyer, and haven't yet had the opportunity to read any of her books. I have heard wonderful things about her work, though, and am eagerly looking forward to enjoying several of her books. Thanks so much for the giveaway!!!

    wpd_2@hotmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  25. I don't have a favorite yet since I haven't had the chance to read any of Karen's books yet. I would love to remedy that though ;)

    Thank you for hosting this giveaway!

    Blessings!
    Jasmine A.
    montanamade(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  26. I LOVED Short Straw Bride! I've read them all but this newest and would LOVE to win it! Thank you for the opportunity!

    Karen
    karen@fallotfam.com

    ReplyDelete
  27. I haven't read one of Karen's books yet, so I can't pick a favorite yet, but I'd love to read this one! Thanks for the giveaway! danandlyndaedwards(at)msn(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  28. My favorite Karen Witemeyer book is Short Straw Bride. Thanks for the giveaway!

    writer_weaverATyahooDOTcom

    ReplyDelete
  29. This one sounds like a hilarious read! I chuckled when reading your synopsis. Crossing my fingers that I'll be able to find it in the bookstore.

    (Please don't count this comment as an entry. :) Thanks!)

    ReplyDelete
  30. I haven't read any of her books yet. This book sounds like it'd be fun to read. :)

    ReplyDelete
  31. I have read all of Karen's books and love them all. I think the one I like best is Tailor Made Bride. It teaches us something that I have always said. Beauty is only skin deep. Fluff and beauty are nothing if the heart isn't beautiful. But to find the true beauty one must look very deep into a persons heart.

    ReplyDelete
  32. Looks like a great book and I am always on the look for a new book! Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete

I am so delighted that you've taken time to come by and comment. Blessings for a joy-filled day!

1 Corinthians 1:3 ~ Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.