Monday, June 17, 2013

Review ~ A Bride For All Seasons by Margaret Brownley

About the Book

And Then Came Spring by Margaret Brownley

Mary-Jo has been unlucky all her life. But who would guess she’d travel halfway across the country to meet her match . . . only to find him dead!

My Review

A Bride for All Seasons is a collection of four novellas, set in four different midwestern and western towns during 1870. Melvin Hitchcock is the owner and editor of The Hitching Post Mail Order Bride Catalogue. As such, he feels he has the right to read the letters going back and forth between his clients. You know, just in case he needs to “fix” what he feels might not be presenting them in their best light. After all, he wants these guys and gals to get hitched. The ensuing embellishments cause all kinds of misunderstandings and distorted communications leading to some humorous moments between the mail order brides and grooms-to-be.

Each author has done an excellent job in this collection. The stories are fast-paced with plenty of sparkling repartee that kept me positively engaged. The character development is good and there are some precious moments between the brides and bridegrooms.

Introducing us to the ramifications of Melvin's meddling is author Margaret Brownley's And Then Came Spring. With her trademark wit, Margaret blends feelings of fear, abandonment, and grief into a work of fiction that is both funny and sweet, while showing how God works his perfect will in life. Lots of chuckles and oh no's, along with some serious head shaking made my family look askance at me a few times while I read this novella.

Mary-Jo Parker arrives in Colton, Kansas expecting her groom to meet her at the train station. The agreement was they would get “hitched up” right away but after a few hours of waiting, he doesn't show so she goes looking for him. Of course, being such a highly superstitious person, she has to be extremely careful. Margaret managed to introduce me to all kinds of superstitions people have that I wasn't aware of. Thanks to Sheriff Tom Garrett and his steadfast faith in the Lord, Mary-Jo learns that there's no need to live in fear of stepping in the wrong place, spilling salt or any of that other nonsense. God is the one in control! And you'll meet Eddie, a little boy who has firmly planted himself in my heart and I hope gets a grownup story of his own someday.

I highly recommend this collection of novellas to all Historical Fiction fans!

I received an ARC of the book from the author in exchange for my review. No other compensation was received.

About the Author 

Thrills, mystery, suspense, romance: Margaret penned it all. Nothing wrong with this, except Margaret happened to be writing for the church newsletter. After making the church picnic read like a Grisham novel, her former pastor took her aside and said, "Maybe God's calling you to write fiction."

It turns out God was and Margaret did. She now has more than 20 novels to her credit. In addition, she's written many Christian articles and a non-fiction book. Still, it took a lot of prodding from God before Margaret tried her hand at writing inspirational fiction which led to her Rocky Creek series. "I love writing about characters at different stages of faith," she says of the new direction her writing career has taken, "and I'm here to stay."

Happily married to her real-life hero, Margaret and her husband live in Southern California.

Connect with Margaret at any of the places below:


To purchase A Bride For All Seasons visit  Thomas Nelson.


  1. Sounds like a good read! Thanks for sharing, Anne :) Have a lovely week.

    Hugs to you!

  2. Great review, Anne! I hope to have the opportunity to read this book!


I am so delighted that you've taken time to come by and comment. Blessings for a joy-filled day!

1 Corinthians 1:3 ~ Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.